FALL RIVER: HRM Fire Zone 4 recognized volunteer firefighters in the Waverley; Grand Lake; Fall River; Goffs; and Wellington departments on Nov. 25.

The awards ceremony was held at the LWF Hall in Fall River, with the meal served by volunteers in the community as well as youth from the Bedford Blues hockey team; and Fall River Selects basketball.

Ksenia Zaiats was selected as the Firefighter of the Year from her department during the annual Zone 4 volunteer firefighter awards dinner, held Nov. 25 at the LWF Hall in Fall River. (Healey photo)

HRM Fire’s newly minted Fire Chief Ken Stuebing along with District Commander for Zone 4 Gord West and new District Captain for Zone 4 Vince Jordan, who previously was Station Chief with Station 40 in Dutch Settlement.

Picking up awards were the following volunteer firefighters, as announced at the event. Tom Heighway was the Emcee for the night.

Announced first were the Service Awards. Picking up five year service awards were Sarah Kingsbury (Station 41 Waverley); Errison Blackie (Station 45 Fall River; he was recently hired as a career firefighter with Truro Fire); Rob Clarke (Station 45 Fall River); Johnathan Abbott Jr. (Station 45 Fall River); and Nick Yeomans (Station 45 Fall River), all for five years.

Elaine Oulton with Station 41 Waverley received her 15 years service award; while Norm Lavoie was honoured for 30 years of service with Station 45 Fall River. This is his 31st year in the fire service.

(Healey photo)

After those awards were handed out, it was ti8me for eachr espective station to hand out their awards:

Station 47 Goffs Firefighter of the year – Sherry Thompson

Station 45 Fall River Firefighter of the Year – Adam Williams

Station 45 Fall River Officer of the Year – Errison Blackie

Station 45 Fall River Officers Choice – Shawn Anderson

Elaine Outlon gets her service award. (Healey photo)

Station 42/43 Wellington/Grand Lake – Firefighter of the Year – Mike Campbell

Station 42/43 Wellington/Grand Lake Officer of the Year – Station Chief Jeff Pickrem

Station 42/43 Wellington/Grand Lake Officers Choice Aaron VanNostrand and Colin MacLean

Station 41 Waverley Firefighter of the Year – Dan Baisly

Station 41 Waverley Officer of the Year – Jeff Wright

Station 41 Waverley Officers Choice – Ksenia Zaiats

(Healey photo)