Municipal candidates confirmed for election in East Hants

EAST HANTS: The candidates for the Oct. 17 municipal election in the Municipality of East Hants have been confirmed.

The deadline to file nomination papers was Sept. 8, with a withdrawal deadline of Sept. 9.

Here are your official candidates and acclaimed Councillors and CSAP representative for the 2020 election:

District 1 – Enfield

Sam Balcom

Sandra Garden-Cole

District 2 – Elmsdale-Belnan

Stephen King

Norval Mitchell

District 3 – Milford-Nine Mile River

Eldon Hebb – Acclaimed

District 4 – Shubenacadie

Ian Knockwood

Carl MacPhee

Paul Preiss

Marianne Stewart

Kim Williams

District 5 – Maitland-MacPhees Corner

Shannon MacWilliam

Keith Rhyno

District 6 – Walton-Noel-Kennetcook

Ron Fortune

Wayne Greene

Angela Sanford

District 7 – Lantz-Milford

Julie Benoit

John A. MacDonald

Jonathan Nieforth

Walter Tingley

District 8 – Mount Uniacke

Brandon Lynch

Michael Perry

District 9 – South-East Uniacke

Elie Moussa – Acclaimed

District 10 – Enfield-Grand Lake

John Douglas Boyd

Tom Isenor

Louise Parker


District 11 – Rawdon-Gore

Andrew Cluett

Eleanor Roulston


Alfred M. Benoit – acclaimed

Voting for the October municipal election will be by telephone, internet and paper ballots. Telephone and internet voting will begin at 8:00 am on Friday, October 9, and continue through to 7:00 pm Saturday, October 17.

Paper ballots can be cast in-person only on Election Day, October 17, from 8:00 am to 7:00 pm.

By the end of September, registered voters will receive a Voter Information Letter by mail with detailed information on how or where to vote.

Visit for more info!