Beaver Bank among electoral boundary recommended changes

Waverley-Fall River-Beaver Bank MLA Bill Horne speaks to the Electoral Boundary Commission during their stop in Lower Sackville on Sept. 4, 2018. (Healey file photo)

BEAVER BANK: The community of Beaver Bank will be moved into one riding, joining fully with Waverley-Fall River-Beaver Bank, under recommended electoral boundary changes made by the Electoral Boundary Commission.

The change was among a few the commission recommended in their report, released on April 15.

In it’s recommendation, it moves Mount Uniacke and South Uniacke from Hants East to the Sackville-Beaver Bank . The district name also changes; it will now be known as Sackville-Uniacke.

The change for this riding—for provincial boundaries only—affects 1,550 registered electors.

For Beaver Bank, they get what many have said they wanted—to be in one district as a whole. Previously portions were in Waverley-Fall River-Beaver Bank, while up to Majestic was in the Sackville-Beaver Bank riding meaning they had two MLAs.

This change affects about 1,990 registered electors.

In the Sackville-Cobequid riding, the community of Lakeview was moved from it to Waverley-Fall River-Beaver Bank. This move affects approximately 360 registered electors.

Stone Mount in Lakeview does appear to remain in Sackville-Cobequid.