Haworth, volleyball Tigers capture sixth AUS title

The Dal Tigers are AUS champions. (Dal Tigers photo)

ST. JOHN’S, NL: Tori Haworth and her Dalhousie Tigers women’s volleyball used their experience to hold off a valiant effort from an upstart Acadia Axewomen to capture the AUS championship on March 3 in St. John’s, NL.

The Tigers went 19-1 in the regular season, with the lone loss to Acadia.

In the first set, Dal took an early 16-6 lead at the technical timeoutThe Axewomen attempted to side out, regain composure, and improve on the offensive front, but ended up dropping the set to the Tigers 25-10.  

Tori Haworth of Waverley hits the ball back over the volleyball net during semi-final action at the AUS women’s volleyball championship. The Tigers won the title in five sets over Acadia. (Memorial Seahawks Sports Information)

The second set was back-to-back action. The Axewomen took a 16-12 and held the lead to go on to win the second set 25-18. 

The third set saw both teams exchanging points early in the set until the Tigers took a sufficient lead after the technical timeout making it 17-11. They continued to maximize point separation as the set ended 25-15 in favor of Dalhousie. 

In the fourth set Acadia answered back, taking a 13-8 lead. Acadia continued the strong play, winning the fourth set 26-16 over the Tigers to tie to sets at 2. 

Tori Haworth watches as a teammate sets up the ball during action against Memorial. (Memorial Seahawks Sports Information)

The Tigers took the AUS Championship with a score of 15-6 to claim their sixth straight title.  

Emma Ciprick had 13 kills and digs in the match for the Tigers. Julie Moore had 12 kills and 14 digs and Catherine Callaghan has 23 digs in the win.

Meanwhile, Haworth from Waverley–a Lockview High alum–had five kills and five digs in the game.

The tournament All-Star team consisted of: Sarah Dawe and Kier Fey from Memorial; Courtney Baker and Emma Ciprick of Dalhousie; Erin Smith from St. Mary’s; and Regan Herrington and Kailey Evans were named from Acadia.

Ciprick was also named tournament MVP.